Monday, November 29, 2010


Huge Bay Area Super Prestige Race At Golden Gate Park.

Nearly 700 Nor-Cal Cross Racers In Action As Cyclocross Makes Home In San Francisco.

Congratulations to Ben Jacques-Maynes(Bissell Pro Cycling) and Kerry Barnholt(Scott/Ritchey) on their fantastic overall Elite triumphs on the day!

Ben Jacques-Maynes rises to the occasion to claim possibly Nor-Cal's the most prestigious Cross win this season.  The legend of BJM continues to grow....

Kerry Barnholt has quietly put together one of the most dominating season's ever for an Elite rider in Nor-Cal history.  Barnholt has won every race she has entered this NCNCA race season except one.  In her only loss, BASP #1, Barnholt had 2 flat tires and still took the race to the line losing a 2-up sprint to Devon Haskell(Bike Station Aptos). 

Congratulations to Tom & Alec Simpson and the BASP Series for a awesome day of racing.

The Golden Gate Park course was epic~.
Some sections had perfect dirt for Cross racing that was hidden under giant trees, and mixed in with wild flowers and green grass. 

Other sections of course were soggy & muddy and contained some deep puddles of water that made for a great spectacle as riders ripped across. 

Congratulations to the rest of the division winners at BASP #4 Golden Gate Park!

Master 35+ A- James Coats- Cal Giant
Master 45+ A- Kevin Merrigan- Team Rambuski Law
Master Women 35+ A- Kristin Drumm- Divine Electric Norcal
Master 55+- Norm Kreiss- Cal Giant
Single Speed A- Rainer Schaefer- Freewheel/Hunter
B Women- Ellen Sherrill- Davis BIke Club
Cat B Men- Ryan Moore- City Cycles of S.F.
Master 35+ B- Shawn O'Meara- Velo Reno
Master 45+ B- Max Thompson- Missing Link
Single Speed B- Christopher Elbo- Missing Link/3rdRail
Cat C Men- Zach Bass- Mission Cycling
Cat C Women- Erin Durkee
Master 35+ C- Michael Lodoen- Murray-Renaissance
Junior Women U15- Avery Moren- Team Mad Cat
Juniors 10-14- Chance Tiner- Santa Cruz Junior Cycling
Juniors 15-18- Tobin Ortenblad- Jeff Nehls Coaching

Top 5 Elite Men-
Ben Jacques-Maynes(Bissell Pro Cycling)
Justin Robinson(Cal Giant/Specialized)
Scott Chapin(Bay101/HRS/RockLobster)
Josh Snead(Bay101/HRS/RockLobster)
Brue Sylvertsen(De La Paz Coffee)

Top 5 Elite Women-
Kerry Barnholt(Scott/Ritchey)
Barbara Howe(Ibis & The Danger Twins)
Karen Brems(Team Rambuski Law)
Sarah Bamberger(I Heart Rats)
Megan Guornier(Sterling Sports Group)